The first snow

Konbanwa guys~ The weekend’s been fun for me, hope yours was decent, too! As I mentioned in my last post, I went to gamuso on friday night. I came there at 8o’clock and Saza, one of the french guys I met on New Year’s Eve was already DJ’ing. Walking through the entrance I was met by a hord of people, I’ve never seen gamuso so full, but that also meant more people I know and I actually talked to Daisuke-san again, Laura was there, Adam from New Year”s Eve, Jimmi – another french guy from New Year’s, and lots of more people were there. I walked upstairs and not even 5minutes later Keigo came, too, he had been at work until then. After Saza finished, we grabbed Jimmi and went downstairs and off to the station to pick up Flora, the french girl from New Year’s Eve, because we had thought of having dinner together. So we just picked a random, cheap restaurant near the station, got us some beer and food for a fun dinner. During our little party an old friend of Saza came by and joined us. We really had a decent time at the restaurant, getting more tipsy by the minute, until it was time for us to pay, the others still wanted to go by the conbini before it was Keigo’s turn to mix at gamuso. Everyone bought some beer and then we headed off to gamuso again. All except for Saza’s friend Francois had finished their beer so they went up into the bar, but because I didn’t want to leave him alone I stayed and we had a nice little chat, getting to know each other better and sharing the rest of his drink. Some minutes later we followed the others upstairs, that’s when I met Agustin and his friend Eri, we talked a little bit, but due to the high volume we were very handicapped. I went downstairs because it was still some weird band playing, kind of noisy and so I decided to get a drink. Somehow I got wound into a long conversation with Daisuke and we talked, Laura and Keigo sometime looked by and chit chatted with us, somewhere along the lines Flora bid her goodbyes, Keigo started playing, the bar got less crowded and Daisuke left. I went upstairs, dance some more, went even higher into the more privat room for staff only, had some chats, even met german guys, went downstairs again to dance. Sometime around 2:30-3:00AM the bar was nearly empty, the others were still at it, but most of my friends had left, so I, too, started my journey home. I just fell to bed that evening and woke up around 1-2pm on saturday. I stayed in, did some stuff on my computer, read fanfics, prepared for my upcoming english-teaching classes at work, did my laundry and practically just lazed around at home. In the evening when I prepared dinner, Agustin came home and we landed in front of the TV and watched National Geographics until midnight where the good programms were over, then he siggested to watch a horrormovie (which is practically insane in japans houses, they are soooo scary!) But we still tried a film I brought from home. Sadly it didn’t work, aside from that there wasn’t even an english version nor eng sub so we decided on a swedish movie called ‘men who hates women’, the first part of three VERY amazing films, I recommend them! Very angsty, a little blood, very much story, very much thinking and complicated stuff, more like a riddle and a touch of love and feelings, though, the swedish version with english subs is better then the english dub version. Either way, both are good and in the end we decided to watch the second part, too. Agustin was so tired from work still that he kind of slept through the whole film, but I was watching so intently and excited, it was so good and at 6am the film was over, I woke him up and we went to bed. Sleeping until noon again, I took it slow on sunday, too and had to decline the invitation for the concert with laura and the invitation to party with Keigo and his friends for I was still not finished with my english-teaching stuff. Plus I thought some time being laze would do me good, since I was still a little sick and I had promised Tetsuo-san to take it slowly and get rid of the cold I had(or still have maybe?). Again I stayed inside the house the whole day, lazing around and doing work. But on monday – a national holiday here – I got active again. Firstly, the holiday here is especially about girls at the age of twenty, where they are grown up and ready to be part of the society. It’s tradition to wear a Kimono and Flora told me friday, that she, too, was supposed to attend (she’s 20). She had a fitting on saturday and told me that it takes about 2hours of just putting on a Kimono the right way and I can imagine that. A Kimono is build of 3 layers of cloth, a little belt and the thick belt which is the hardest and most complicated part to put on. Anyways, that morning I was actually ‘meeting up’ with Agustin (he asked me if I wanted to join him for a trip to Asakusa) and I had overslept and completely freaked out, but when i had calmed down I saw what waited outside the house – it was snowing! My calm composure just jumped right out of the window again and I started screaming and jumping of happiness and joy. This much snow hadn’t shown itself to me for years, back home there rarely is snow, and if it’s too little to enjoy, but here, it snowed just one morning (the day before it was even very warm) and everything was covered in a thick layer of snow in a couple of minutes. Going downstairs for a quick shower, I saw Agustin still lying on the couch and I convinced him to still go out, but not to Asakusa. Quickly taking ny shower and burying myself under 5 layers of clothes, 2 pants and 2 pairs of socks and of course hat and scarf, I went down again and waited for Agustin to get ready. I couldn’t calm down anymore once I got outside. Running, jumping screaming and admiring it’s beauty, I ran around, Agustin calmly but also admiringly following me. Since he’s from the warmer part of argentina he rarely see’ s snow either, so he was really cold but fascinated and it was just so beautiful. They crazy thing is, it basn’t snowed this much in Tokyo for years, so I felt/feel kind of very honoured for having the chance to experience this (25cm snow, sounds nice :3) We took lot’s of pictures on our way to the station, at that point it was still ok weather and not sooo cold (for me not at all) but once we reached our destination it drastically changed. We had chosen to go to the Imperial Palace between Tokyo and Ginza which has a super huge garden and it was beautiful, without a doubt, but just the way there was so exhausting with a heavy wind casting the snow directly into your face and not inly that, but most snow on the street had started to melt already, turning all the streets into huge ponds, so our feet ans shoes were drenched instantly – and our journey had just started! As mentioned, our way was kind of like hell, but still funny and beautiful, all the snow was awesome. We reached the bridge in front of the Imperial Palace (the place where the emperor of japan lives), took some cliché-tourist-pictures, I laid down in the snow and did a snowangel and then we continued to Hibiya garden just across the street – at that point I was already completely drenched from top to toe and Agustin even worse. The walk through Hibiya garden was short and not so nice, we were afraid of getting hit by the snow falling from the trees and the snow on the ground had already turned into mudpuddles, so we headed to the nearest station and took the train home. But before walking home we took the detour over a delicious curryplace he wanted to show me and it really is great – big portions, big taste and spicy! And it was warm inside the store! Taking in the delicious food we got warmer again and full so freshed up by the food we headed back but it was still so exhausting, our feets already completely numb from being soaked and frozen all at once. Still we made it home safely, got dry and comfortable, got a little tea and relaxed. Agustin had to go out once more to get Eri from the station and so we sat an hour later in front of the computer again and watched the last part of the movie and continued with TV after we finished. Around 10pm it was time to say good night. We all went to bed, I just finished something small on my cellphone before shutting off the lights to sleep. Getting up for work today was very easy, but I still came late – due to the train being late and having problems. Still, I was able to get out of the house and to the station in time, so now I just need to make that work! Work itself wasn’t so exciting, i just prepared my englishclasses, did some papers in preparation and study more japanese. Today I finally also got my christmaspresent from mom and Em’ Tack så hemst mycket jag blev så glad, underbara presenter! :* Tacka jag dej Shasha för adventskalendern? Nu gör jag det, Tack så mycket! Ni tre är bäst :* So after coming home I just plopped into my bed and lazed around and wrote down this. I think it will be a while again before you hear from me since work isn’t so exciting to write about, but weekend should be a little action again! Anticipate! Seeya gals n guys!

image

image

image

Ginza

image

image

image

Imperial Palace

image

image

image

Beef Curry

image

This is where I really want to bring it in. Those are vending machines, they are placed at every corner here in Japan. The best thing the sell cold AND hot drinks, never have I loved a hot drink more! So good!

2 thoughts on “The first snow

  1. So you’re going to give English classes , I could help you with a wee bit of scottish , it even snowed here in Heiton today , but I’ll be flying to the Las Palmas on friday for a week so I hope no snow there.
    Bye Bye and hugs
    Dougie

  2. So much snow in Tokyo – Wow!! We don’t have that much here. But I do hope your cold didn’t get worse after walking for so long with wet, cold feet….
    Great, you’ve finally got our Christmas presents!!! They took extremely long to get to you 😦 and I’m so sad you didn’t get them on time but hopefully it was a surprise when they finally arrived.
    Hope your first English class went well and they were good pupils 🙂 I’m excited to hear about your experiences.
    Lots of kisses and hugs, Mummy

Leave a Reply

