My christmas days

Oh it has been quite some time, since I last updated, but I wanted to have some quiet days over christmas as well as leave you yours.
Either way, we’ll start on Monday, Christmas itself – at least for me, being the german I am. I had actually planned with to go out with Laura and her friends for some dinner and maybe a hostclub. She said they’ll start 3pm with some ice-skating and she wanted to contact me about where to meet for dinner, but when nothing came and it was already 7pm, I got fed up with waiting in my bed after I had actually showered and dressed up quite a lot, so I decided last minute to follow after my original plans for christmas eve – cinema. And not just any movie, but the new One Piece Z movie. I quickly searched for a cinema – which was actually really hard considering they rarely use any roman letters. Eventually I found one located in Roppongi, a posh and rich part of Tokyo, but it didn’t matter to me, because I had enough money and there was still plenty of time for me to get there. Roppongi itself oozes of this stuck up attitude, high buildings, many illumination, chicé restaurants and hotels and the people – which were actually purely couples, christmas eve or the whole christmas time in Japan is couple time and the only time in the year where everyone proudly showes of their relationship, kinda weird though. But no one can imitate the japanese in their illuminations, the Tokyo Tower was so beautiful, shining in rainbow colours, a small heart visible, too. Not even the couples were bothering me, because this atmosphere was just so lovely and peaceful. Anyways, I went to the cinema located about 5minutes from the metro station. Even though I just understood some minor words, the film was great and enticing, I had an awesome time and contrary to my prior worries I didn’t  regret driving there. Just as I came out from the cinema, my italian cohabitant saw me and we continued our way to the metro together. We actually hurried because the last train was leaving around that time (one of my prior worries), but luckily people living in Asagaya have two options on how to come home so we headed for Shinjuku to take the railway to Asagaya. We talked nicely, the trains were a little crowded but not comparable to the ride back home from Tokyo Station last week. Tamo showed me another shortcut, passing by a hyakuen shop for food and back home.
We went to bed not long after for we both had to work the day after. Yeah, exactly, in fact only the 23. of december is a national holiday, but since it fell on a sunday this year, people were granted with the 24 off work. Work started on the 25. again and so did mine. I went to work, had a boring and tiring day of helping out again, though a little present from Michan brightend my day, before I got a message from Laura saying they would meet up around  3:30pm. Sadly I had to decline, even the dinner because I was bound for some christmas-like-dinner with my co-workers around 18o’clock. It was a lovely, little, not so high-class restaurant where we ate fried chicken, fries, nabe, sashimi, salad and some yakitori. The funny thing about some restaurants here, is that you somehow pay for the time you are being there. So we had the room for 2 hours but could order drinks for free. We ordered beer and sake of course, drank and got a little drunk, thought the whole evening was shadowed by the early death of the daughter of one of my co-workers during the past weekend. When we were ready to leave, Munakata-san and Micchan left (without me really noticing) and we went back to the company to get my things I left there. We came back down and Tetsuo-san asked if we were up for some karaoke, but at the time we had found the nearest one by phone, he already had declined and bid his silent goodbye’s, though he had been down and seemed out of it the whole evening, probably because of the worry he felt for my coworker who lost his daughter. Tetsuo-san is a really caring and soft person even though he seems tough and positive on he outside.
Either way, we were only 5 left – Suzuki-san, Shingaki-san, Kawamoto-san and Fujie-san plus me. Everyone except for me was really a bit tipsy but in the mood for some karaoke and so we went on a 5minute walk to akihabara to the next karaokebar. They sure are impressing and really fun, but nothing like singstar if you’d thought of comparing karaoke to it. It’s actually rather hard and to find a song isn’t so easy either but once the mic’s on th fun starts. I really enjoyed my time there. 11pm was the time to stop, we all had a train to catch and a hard day of working waited for us in the morning. Tetsuo-san though went on holiday from the 26. to the 28. so I won’t see him for 2 weeks now.
Anyways, I came home and went to bed straight, only unpacking the lovely gift from Micchan, before waking up in the morning to go to another hard yet boring day of work. Nothing special happened at work, so I had planned to go out and around town after work to search for present fit for Micchan. First I went to Akihabara, doing some random looking around shops and later went into such a gamearcade, because I really wanted to try and I also saw a little, cute plushie that suited her perfectly. After finishing all the little errands I  took the train to Harajuku, for I wanted to do some strolling, getting to know the area and eventually searching for another little gift, but when I came there everyone shop was closing and I realized that somehow 2,5 hours had passed without me noticing at all. Luckily I still got a little insight and that already got me deep into shit – I’m sure I could shop myself to death in that district with the extravagancy of clothes, wasted youth style, pullover with wings, ripped or strick. Everything not normal, not cute, not feminine and I loved it. Definitely a part I’ll visit soon.
So my trip there ended quite fast, but it had the good point of me changing the trains in Shinjuku, where I had a little look at some hairbows and stuff which I originally thought for Micchan as a present. I got a small hairband with a flower on it and went home, straight to bed though I couldn’t bring myself to fall asleep. Still I got to work today, too, had some nice little chats with Micchan, gave her her belated christmaspresent and helped out with some minor work at work. Being a little tired, I went home straight and sat together with Yuya-san in front of the TV, having some dinner. Nothing exciting really, so now I’m going to bed. I hope you all had a some nice christmasdays, spent happily, peacefully and lovely with the family and that you got many presents. Also, have a good start into the new year – we didn’t die with the end of the maya calender so savour every moment and make the best of it! Maybe you’ll hear from me before new years eve, maybe not, depends but either way, lots of love and blessings for the new year~

Shi yuuu~ ;3

image

Roppongi Hills Mori Tower

image

Tokyo Tower Christmasillumination

image

Tokyo Skyline from Roppongi Hills

image

Roppongi Hills Mori Tower

image

Tokyo Tower usual illumination

image

Battery vending machine

image

Part of our meal

image

Nabe-rice and Udon (popular noodles, especially around New Year’s)

image

View of Ochanomizu on a december day.

4 thoughts on “My christmas days

  1. Oh honey, spending Christmas eve alone watching a movie 😦 poor sweet heart – but at least you enjoyed the evening and didn’t stay at home in your room. Karaoke with friends isn’t bad either – how did you manage the Japanese songs? Would have loved watching you 🙂 Millions of wee kisses and hugs xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Poor Sweetheart, Hope you had a few lovely days, though you were Not able to celebrate Christmas As you’ve been used to.
    We were all thinking of you, Sending you Lots of Thanks and kisses!
    Luv ya 🙂

Leave a Reply

