FunFunFun and a lot to explore on Kyushuisland

Ok guys, so today I have a whole lot to tell, 5 days worth of updates and at least 8 days worth of happenings.
Everything already started when sunday morning came around. The day I was suppossed to wake up at 5o’click to get ready ready in time, so we could leave for tokyo around 6:30.
You see, I was suppossed to, means that I actually slept until Tetsuo-san knocked at my door 6:30 and said ‘I’m leaving’. Taking a minute to wake up fully and progress what he said, I stormed out of my room, down the stairs and out the front door, only to see him at the car, packing his luggage. Desperately trying to make him wait for me, I shouted to give me 10 more minutes and so he did. I ran upstairs again, grab my thins and got ready, luckily I already had packed most of the things so I just did the last check up and approximately 10 minutes later I sat in the car, luggage in the back.
We started for Tokyo to park the car and because Tetsuo-san needed to do some last preparations. While he packed, I ate some breakfast and 8:15 we collected everything, heading to the subway station on our way to Haneda Airport. One hour later we sat at our gate and waited to board the plane. I love flying and so was this one also very enjoyable, for one because I was able to see Fujiyama from above.
After 1,5h flight, we safely came back to earth in Kumamoto – Tetsuo-san’s hometown (more or less). Taking the bus from the AP to the central of Kumamoto took us around 15 minutes, luckily our hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the centralbusstation. We only disposed or luggage and directly headed for the medical conference – the main purpose of our trip.
Arriving there, we were greeted by an utmost nobel atmosphere and especially I myself felt like I didn’t belong there, considering my missed start in the morning and the nonexistent time at the hotel. Tetsuo-san went to search for our booth in the room, in midst of many other booths and I followed him like an obidient puppy, feeling so out of place like i’ve never done before. We found our booth and were greeted by Suzuki-san, one of my co-workers from Tokyo, and Nakagawa-san. Nakagawa-san is a handsome, very kind man in his mid-to-end-30’s I’d say (though I’m not sure), sadly he can’t speak english, so we weren’t able to have a decent talk.
The conference itself was build around the topic of medical help for newborn babies, and of course people dress up for a medical conference.
So there I was, wearing jeggings, a black tank top and sneaker – crappy make up not to forget – standing at our infobooth completely confused and helpless, in a room together with about 85% japanese male from 30-75 years old, all in black suits – and me being the only white human being on the whole floor.
Though I looked like the odd left out, I literally felt all the looks on me, whether it be when I passed by or even from afar. Somehow scary. Still, somehow the time went by quite fast and the buffetparty, organized by the conference-managers, approached. Ignoring that I’m still underaged in Japan, I took a white wine as my welcomes-drink. After nearly everyone had settled at their table (without chairs), there were some speeches that I didnt understand. Tetsuo-san told me one was held by the mayor of Kumamoto, and the one after was held by the head of Kumamotoprefecture (or something like this).
Either way, finishing all the formalities, everyone started their rounds around the tables to collect their dinner, the room giving it all the perfect atmosphere.
To the left side of the entrance there was a long row of tables for soup and sushi (freshly made in front of you), in the middle they build a square of tables, placing different delicious variations of food, like salmonfillet on spinach, thin slices of bread with camembert in top in a nice shape and many others. Delicious! And to the right side they served warm meals and offered amazing small pastries. Everything in small but exquisite looking portions. Of course there were also servants going around with drinks and dirty plates, always cleaning away after people finished their plate.
Everyone ate and drank, I met a lot of doctors and professors who were aquaintances to Tetsuo-san, Nakagawa-san always said he was full and would barely clear his plate, yet not even 5 minutes later he came with another plate of food and I started laughing so hard everytime I saw him eating something new (don’t forget we were drinking wine and beer, me of course too, so i was a little tipsy). We were all quite funny that evening and had a lot of fun and that’s what made this party so nice, though i often just stood there, a little bored. Still it was fun.
But as if this wasn’t enough for a days happening, we left around 8o’clock, everyone of us a little drunk, one more, the other a little less, but still drunk. Suzuki-san left us just in front of the hotel to go to his hotel, calling it a day and we actually just wanted to go home too, but as we were walking through the mainshoppingmall just across the street on our way home, we passed an ice cream parlour – and not just any ice cream parlour but a ‘Hägen Dasz’ one.
Which question came next? Right – Wanna grab some ice cream? My treat. Of course Tetsuo-san would ask such a question. Nakagawa-san and me were actually very hesitant, but agreed nevertheless. Still I only took one sort in a cup, fearing I would be too full already.
Mhh~ my ice cream was just as delicious as everything else that evening and I was completely content with just having one little bowl, Tetsuo-san on the other side just had overdo it and take two or three bowls of ice cream. So naturally he took a little longer to finish and he and Nakagawa-san had some things to talk about and so i excused myself saying i would go out to take photos.
Baaaad Lie. But I couldn’t resist, so I went out and around a corner and imidiately found what I was looking for – a smoker. I asked him as politely as it can be between two people who can’t converse because of language-issues, if he could give me a cigarette and he said something (what I later found out, he meant he only had menthol cigarettes) but as desperate for a cigarette as I was it didn’t matter. The satisfaction that washed over me after taking the first drag for 13 days can’t possibly be described. The guy who gave it to me, looked a tad bit older than me, had a messy mob of hair and kinda messy outer appearance in general, yet gave of a quite likable and kind aura.
Still, since I didn’t want to get involved in trouble I took some steps away from him after saying my thanks. Shortly after, he finished his cig and actually came over to me again to ask me out on a sake, but (of course) I declined and he accepted my turn down and left. I sat down to savour the last drags of my cigarette before I stuffed some mintbonbons into my mouth and continued my stroll through the mall. 5 minutes later I went into the ‘Hägen Dasz’ shop again to pick up the other two. We left and headed for our hotels again, Nakagawa-san leaving us shortly after. Coming to our hotels, we took the direct path to our rooms, being quite tired out. Finally in my room I didn’t know what to do since it was barely 9:15, so I started the TV and zapped through, landing on the ending ceremony of the ‘NHK-Trophy’. It was really beautiful, the freestyle part as well as the program they had planned and to top it off, the 4 best japanese figure skaters participated, amazing! After that I went to bed. Monday arrived and since I went to bed early, I got up quite early and without much hassle. Tetsuo-san and I made up to meet at the breakfastbuffet at 8 and since I always tend to be late I was very surprised – and Tetsuo-san too – that I was there before him when he came 10 minutes late. That we had some time before leaving and so I got ready after breakfast, dressing up a little bit, too, even curling my hair a little, since i didn’t want to feel like the odd left out again. Maybe a not so wise decision. The looks I got that day were even more intense than the ones I got the day before. To my luck, Tetsuo-san sent Suzuki-san to visit the castle of Kumamoto with me and so we did. Of course it wasn’t a castle built out of stone how you’d see it in Europe, but the old japanese traditional style built out of wood surrounded by a maze of high stone walls and exhausting stairs. Actually a very beautiful kind of castle, I like the japanese traditional style a lot, and being built on a hill, it shows the visitors a nice view over the whole area of Kumamoto. Though a part of the castle was restored some years ago, due to the state it was left in after the last war. The main towers in the middle of the place are 6 or 7 levels high and on the topfloor you are granted a 360º roundview over the whole area, many mountains gracing the view and small houses and streets decorating the town itself. (When we entered the city the day before, Tetsuo-san said that it’s actually a quite small town so I asked how many inhabitants it had. He guessed about a million and I went ‘what the?!? That’s small? O.O’ To maybe explain some things, big cities here in japan arrise not out of a small city developing and growing, but out of many small cities growing gradually until there are practically no borders left so they form a new big city or are added to the biggest city. And that’s what happened in Kumamoto, all the suburban villages were added to Kumamoto, that explains its’ size.) Aside from the two maintowers, there was also the lord’s residence in a separate, really big, one story building. You could do a tour and see how they lived 200 years ago. Very interesting and nobel lifestyle rich people had back then. But the most stunning thing was actually the privat room of the lord, a room where the walls and sliding doors and even the ceiling were coated and decorated with paintings of gold, the painting even telling a famous asian story. There was only one little tower left, that displayed the old standard of the whole castle, yet it had something very charming. That whole cilmbing and looking, asking and being breathtaken took about 2,5 hours and it was already 13:20 so Suzuki-san decided to take me out to lunch. He lead me to a very famous traditonal restaurant where we had to wait for 10minutes before he ordered us a 4-course meal with a specialty around Kumamoto he wanted me to eat. What you wonder? Bashimi. The japanese word for raw meat, in our case raw horsemeat. (Hihihi I’d like to see your faces now >:D) But it indeed was extremely tasty and definitely lives up to it’s good reputation. So the raw horsemeat was our appetizer, followed by an onion soup and a little salad. The main dish was roasted horsemeat, nicely served with some vegetables as decoration and some rice, though the roasted meat was a little dogged and sticky, felt like bubblegum, but had a great taste nevertheless. Yet, though some of you might think it’s disgusting, i preferred the raw version more. To chamfer it, they served us some coffee and cheesepanacotta topped with a raspberrysauce. Oh that probably was the best about the whole meal, that sweet dessert. Suzuki-san said my smile was thanks enough for him so I must’ve been visibly happy by it’s amazing taste. During our meal I also had some time to chat with Suzuki-san. As I’ve may said already, he has a very shy, coy and timid persona, but our lunch gave me the chance to talk to him. It was a little tough, since japanese people are very good at studying (including english) but when it comes to the vocal part of languages there is this kind of blockade. Still we could converse more or less and I felt that he is very intelligent and had to think about what Tetsuo-san told me before. He told me that Suzuki-san actually had one of the best graduationcertificates in university, but not just any university but rather Tokyo University, the one I’ve talked about in earlier posts. It is THE university you want to graduate from if you want to get a good job and earn a lot of money. But back to the main topic. In total we stayed away for about 3,5h from the conference and Tetsuo-san even got a little angry at us, but went to have lunch Nakagawa-san anyway. The rest of the conference was quite boring, I observed how everyone grew more tired and demotivated by the minute, rarely having people look at their booth (I mean, it was monday, and who the hell would come look at hospital equipment for newborns on a monday?). Anyways, everything took an end at 5:30PM, we closed up our booth and said an ‘otsukaresama deshita!’, leaving the hotel imidiately to celebrate our good work with some well-earned dinner. Taking a stroll through the whole shopping district and their small side streets, we searched for our restaurant. In a small street, away from big, flashing lights we found a little, yet very nice traditional japanese restaurant named ‘Nana’. It was a restaurant where every group of guests had their on booth with two drapes hanging down the ceiling to create a privat atmosphere. There were also seperate rooms with sliding doors, but I supposse those were more expensive, for businessmen, big family gatherings and such. A booth itself was a square with a table in the middle, deviding it in two and space for the legs under it, you had a pillow to sit on and in such a booth was place for 4 people. The waitress’ and waiters always sat down in front of the booth, behind the drapes and peaked inside to take up orders. As in every other restaurant you could order seperate meals for everyone, but Tetsuo-san, Nakagawa-san and Suzuki-san were up for some shared dinner, which meant we each got a small plate to eat on, the food itself though was served on one big plate so everyone could pick something and place it on their plate. We started the evening with a beer each (once again disregarding me being underaged) and some appetizer like grilled pumpkin, chicken, and something else. At first it was kinda hard to talk without leaving one out, because of my lack of japaneseskills and Nakagawa-san’s lack of englishskills, so it was the japanese-line that had a nice talk first. Shortly after the second dish was served, this time some Sashimi, raw fish, in this case tuna on radish or onion (I’m not sure anymore). I like fish a lot, but raw fish without anything isn’t really my taste Maybe something i need to get used to, since it doesn’t taste bad, it’s just chewing on it feels really weird. Anyways, with the tuna came the sake and so I had my first real japanese sake on that night, which proved to be worth it. My first impression of sake was actually very positive. It tastes very sweet and only a hint of alcohol. And with the sake came the japanese manner of ‘Oshaku’ and ‘Teshaku’. ‘Oshaku’ is hard to translate, but easy to explain, it’s simply the display of respect and politeness through filling up the sakecup with more sake. Me as a western human being thought that they’d want me to get drunk and it really gives of that feel, but here in Japan it is just to show you ‘care’ about your friend and that he won’t get thirsty, a kind of displaying affection I’d like to call it. ‘Teshaku’ on the other hand just means that you yourself fill up your cup. The fun officially started. The next dish was something I ate earlier today, raw horsemeat, but this was a lot more expensive, since it was shimofuru (this one’s really hard to explain, so we’ll go by… it’s a really special and expensive way of feeding the animals). The difference between normal and shimofuru meat is that shimofuru meat is nerved by small points of fat, it’s like a pattern on the meat, which makes it really soft, tasty and juicy. Something I didn’t explain earlier ist that additionally to the meat itself they always serve aome pieces of fat, which are a tad bit hard in their texture, but taste good too. Important to know is also that the meat is only taken from the neck, another reason it is very famous and expensive. There were also spring onions coveres in porkslices served in addition to the bashimi. We ate and drunk happily, finally loosening up and talking freely. I had to explain how old you need to be to be able to drink in germany and there eyes only grew bigger in surprise when I told them you need to be 16 to legally buy wine and beer and 18 to have excess to whiskey and liquore and stuff. So after I told them, Tetsuo-san only once again said ‘furuiyo’ (a way to express ‘you are a bad girl!’) and we all started laughing, since then I only heard ‘oshaku’ ‘oshaku’ and even did some myself. Time passed and our main meal came – japanese seafood-nabe. Nabe in general is a kind of hot pot or soup. We got a transportable gasstove, a big bowl with soup in it and a large plate filled with various vegetables and all kinds of seafood. Nakagawa-san, our chef for the night, started the gasstove to heat up the soup, then put the vegetables each sort step by step into the hot bowl and finally the seafood. Everything cooked for about 5 minutes and then it was ready to be served. I was being served by Nakagawa-san, since I didn’t how to handle things and maybe also for Oshaku-reasons. Anyways, everyone got a bowl filled with some of the vegetables and seafood like shrimps, fish and oysters, all cooked in a spicy, red tomato-chili- soup. It was delicious to say the least and to overcome the burning feeling in the mouth we all sipped at our sake from time to time, having more fun by the minute. Clearing all the things in the bowl, the soup was left, but what surprised me, was that you don’t drink/eat the leftover soup or get rid of it – no, you put cooked rice in it until it gets a little sticky and pudding like and then you eat it. We happily ate away again, just leaving a little rest. And then it came – the arguement. Not as you may think, though, nobody did anything wrong, it was just, nobody wanted to take the leftover rest, out of politeness of course and me being the girl and a newby to japanese food was suppossed to take the rest because they left it for me, but because I didn’t want to take the rest again, I grabbed Nakagawa-sans bowl and poured the rest into it. Tetsuo-san started screaming and laughing, saying I was ready to be a real japanese woman. We joined him in laughing and the mood rose even higher. Nakagawa-san finished his last spoon, we called for the waitress to clean our table and decided to have some dessert, too. Being the sweet sweet girl I am (in japanese you say amato, a human being who loves to eat sweet things, amai being the japanese word for sweet), I of course wanted a double portion of caramelsauce on my ice cream dessert. When I voiced that the other three just started laughing again, but said they’ll try but couldn’t assure me i would get it. On a sidenote maybe, our main waitress was a very cute girl, maybe in her early 20’s and how elderly men are when they are a little tipsy, they of course involved her in a little chat telling her this, that and things like the legal age for alcohol in germany, and then Tetsuo-san asked her if she was from Kumamoto, because her accent (i’m not sure about that part, because they talked japanese, but that’s what it sounded like) and they started saying where they were from, mentioning me being german and aish it was really funny and she was very kind and friendly. I went for the toilette after we had ordered our desserts and soon after I had came back, they were served and I even got my extraportion caramelsauce – yummy! And again everyone laughed at me for eating my ice cream so passionate and lovingly, savouring every bit of it. You see, we had a whole lot of fun, and I’m really grateful to every one of them for making this evening so perfect. Sadly it took an end after the lovely dessert and a whole 3,5 hours of talking, laughing and some eating in between. We parted ways in front of the restaurant, Nakagawa-san and Suzuki-san going into a different direction. The restaurant was located in the area of our hotel, it only took us about 5 minutes to get there, so I soon laid in my bed, still a little tipsy and just listened to music before I decided to get ready for bed. It took me some time so I got to bed around 23:30 and of course I couldn’t get up the next morning, the day of our departure to Beppu, a city on the eastcoast of Kyushu. Though I couldn’t get out of bed, I was still punctual, practically, we just missed each other since i waited in the foyer and he already sat in the dining hall, eating breakfast. We started at exactly 8:30 from the hotel, fetched us a taxi to the car rent, where Tetsuo-san had reserved a rentcar for the next two days. Which car did he rent? The same one he’s driving at home (orz). Driving car in japan as a foreigner seems like ‘there’s only enough space for one of us’ and I still get afraid while driving with Tetsuo-san because of the stunts he pulls flawlessly. Japanese drivers are very calm – no, very, VERY calm. Aside from the main streets in Tokyo and highways ind Japan, the streets seem like there really is only enough for one normal sized european car and maybe a smart, but here in Japan people drive here like they don’t care, quite ruthless but still somehow controlled. If there is a car coming from the other direction they try to make a little space for the passing though that often seems impossible because of the size of the street, and still everyone does it and nothing happens, when in fact the cars are only cm’s apart. The one heartthrobbing carmoment I encountered in Kumamoto with Tetsuo-san was like ‘WTF WWHAT ARE YOU DOOOOINGGG AHDVSOKABSJDOSK!!?!?!?!’ I was breathless for a second. Tetsuo-san’s car is a Toyota Prius alpha, a hybrid one at that and really big and comfy for a family car. He hates to wait, very impatient (something I am actually struggling with a lot) so he likes to take ways randomly and so he did when he saw traffic approaching at that one traffic light. Taking the way straight on, it lead us through the small streets of the living area, there was barely space for a car this big, not to mention another one and when we came to a kind of crossing (it wasn’t straight on but went over a corner) a car approached from the blind spot on the left and wanted to drive into the street we came from so we nearly crashed. Handling things calmly Tetsuo-san just took the corner, i don’t even think there was space for a sheet of paper, but still, nothing happened. Both cars just drove on, and I told him what i’ve told him a dozen times already ‘Germans wouldn’t be able to handle such situations, most propably getting super frustrated, complicating it by driving back and forth, maybe even screaming and swearing.’ and if you’d encounter such a situation I’m quite sure you’d think the same. Nevertheless, we safely drove through the suburbian cities of Kumamoto, making our way to Tetsuo-sans hometown where he lived and grew up, which is now a part of Kumamoto. We continued our way, taking a quiet road through the countryside of Kumamoto. The scenery was breathtakingly stunning, a lot of bamboo, many rice fields and many oldfashioned houses, the streets very small. To my big surprise, Kyushu had a lot of mountains, that were visible at the horizon and we were approaching them fast. I originally thought that Kyushu was more flat, a very southern and warm climate, but what I saw was the complete opposite. Kumamoto is about 900km from Tokyo and lays in the south on the Island Kyushu, the most southern Island of Japan, aside from Okinawa, so naturally you think it has a warm climate and maybe some hills, a mountain. But as I said, what you get is the complete oppsite, from what I’ve seen during those 2 days nearly 70% of the whole Island is covered in high mountains and even one or two vulcano – and where did we drive? Just there, right to one of them – the vulcano aso, with it’s height of around 1500 meters and the title of being the most active vulcano in Japan. It was amazing to see all the mountains nearing us and on our way there we drove through a very big city at the foot of the vulcano. We drove up and it slowly disappeared again. The street up the mountain was a pure hassle and that day I found out that I get sick of driving up and down mountains. Anyways, it took us about 3,5h from Kumamoto to the top of mount Aso and it definitely was worth it, the whole scenery being so breathtakingly awesome, both the outer ring of mountains and the view into the vulcano itself, it was just freezing cold up there. After one hour of looking and snapping pictures, the cold just got unbearable and we decided to leave. I love to look out of the window of a car to see the scenery passing by, savouring every detail and appreciating it’s shape, form and the balanced play of light and shadow and so it was a very nice ride for me, aside from the crooky ways, the up and downs and the sudden screams Tetsuo-san sometimes let free to hold himself awake. Shortly before we reached Beppu, we passed a high mountain once again and id I’m right it was the Mount Kuju, highest mountain on Kyushu with it’s 1700m. We arrived in Beppu around 14:30 and I was so tired out from the ride through the mountains I just wanted to sleep, yet I didn’t want to. The first impression of Beppu I got was ‘Japans Miami’, because of the clear blue sky and the palmtrees lining the pathway of the street. The house we arrived at was inhabitat by an old lady named Takako-san, the wife of Tetsuo-san’s ex-boss. She really is the typical cliché japanese housewife, living in a traditional, oldfashioned japanese house. A typical japanese housewife is very caring and I’ve experienced that if there are guests the housewife always stand in the kitchen, preparing things like meals, coffee, sweets, everything the guest wants and she’s always thinking about to please their guests in any ways, so she always comes up with things the guest might need or like and you feel incredibly sorry and bad about declining because everything they offer you and make are meant in a good way, but it get’s very suffering after some time. Adding to the dilemma of declining I’ve already mentioned that ‘no’ is a word that’s rarely used in Japan and it’s very impolite to decline things. So it’s very hard for foreigners to act the right way in such situations, without being rude. Anyways, of course she offered us some coffee the first thing after settling down, so we had a cup of coffee, at least me and Tetsuo-san did, Takako-san ran around in her little kitchen, always preparing and searching for stuff to please us with. After we finished, Tetsuo-san asked me if I wanted to do some sightseeing and since Beppu actually is a city I wanted to study in some years ago, I wanted to at least take a look at the university. It’s a very known and good university and the location is just perfect. It’s seated on top of a hill, quite far away from the city itself, but the view you are granted is breathtaking and the campus itself is quite big and nice. There is a bridge leading from the campus to the dormitories, busses are driving down to the city and there somehow must be a way down you can take by foot. Either way, it’s beautiful, but not where I’m suppossed to be so we drove down again for a little stroll at the beach (though there wasn’t much to stroll around), but the palmtrees and the moon in the background gave of a nice view. We came back around 5:40 and were served a nice dinner, soup and sashimi, made by Takako-san and it tasted very good. Again we just sat there and talked, though I mostly listenend to them talking, somehow along the lines Takako-san offered some real, warm sake and who would so no to an elder woman offering alcohol and an elderly man asking quite suggestively too?! So there I was again, drinking a beer and warm sake after it, practising my Oshakuskills. Tetsuo-san got tipsy quite fast so it was mainly them talking and watching something on his pc so I started cleaning the things I found at the beach. Soon it was already 11o’clock and I decided to go to bed while the other two went to take a bath in the onsen (a natural hot water bath or spa as you may say, often there are houses or hotels having one or more seperate onsen as a special feature), though she actually had one at home. The second day in Beppu and the last day of our trip came fast, I was ready by 9, we had a huuuge breakfast, prepared by Takako-san of course. We planned to go to a monkeyland just 10 minutes by car so we left around 10:30 and drove there. Somewhere was a sign saying there were 713 monkeys living there and i got very excited just hearing it and it was even more exciting seeing the first ones climbing around, but to my disappointment I wasn’t allowed to touch them, so i could only look. They were cute nevertheless, especially the baby ones, uuuuh kawaii~. And even better that I got touched by one of them, I got so happy. After 2 full hours of intent watching we left and headed back one last time. Packing our things, we got everything ready to leave Beppu at the appointed time. Filling the leftover soup from the day before into our stomachs and a last cup of coffee, we said our thanks, took some pictures and left the city around 3PM and drove highway all the way back to Kumamoto, for we had a flight to catch. Taking a last review, Tetsuo-san noted that we only consumed 26l of fuel for 435km, not very much. We left the car at the rental station at the airport and checked in, taking a last meal, a last beer and a last sake, before we got to the gate for our plane back to Tokyo. The flight back was even more exciting since it was already dark and I was finally able kick my ass to start a book I bought back in heathrow. ‘Underground’ by Haruki Murakami and it’s a collection of interviews he himself has held with victims of the tragedy of the tokyo subway from 1995. I’ve barely read 20 pages, but I was already so touched I wanted to cry after the first introductionpages. And once again he has proved me right, why he is my favourite author and what I like most is that he actually points out the reason I like him that much, in an excuse to explain how this idea of writing a book like this came to life. Very enjoyable yet shaking and definitely worth reading (preferably english). We landed about an hour later and I got the see Yokohama by night. Somehow it got a little complicated after that, because Tetsuo-san got off way before me so I just went on to the exit, but when I didn’t see him anywhere I just went on to the monorail station, thinking he already got there since he tends to get impatient quite easily and quickly. But there I got it wrong, yet I was once again locked up behind those check in things and just as I got out again I saw him entering the escalator down to my floor. Everything went fine after that, but since Tetsuo-san was probably a tad bit angry we didn’t talk, but I couldn’t care less, I was too tired from the whole trip, having seen and done too much. (Not that I’m unhappy, but it would’ve been a lot less tiring if we had had a day or two more) He brought me to my hotel near his company and I checked in, went up to my room and just sat down, settling down first, having some social with my friends, before I prepared the things for my shrine visit. I went there 12o’clock, though it was actually 2 hours late, but I still wanted to pay my respect properly at least one time. I got back half an hour later, just getting ready and falling into my bed, trying to get as much sleep as possible before getting up at 7:30 again (after being awake for half an hour) to prepare for our trip to Koriyama, Fukushima prefecture. Another medical conference, just a lot bigger, which we reached by the shinkansen, the japanese highspeed train. I felt a little like a model actually, with all eyes trained on me, though it got creepy at some point. This one wasn’t as exciting or successful as the one we attended in Kumamoto, so we left earlier, took the shinkansen to back to Tokyo and I just changed trains and got home to chiba. I was so empty and used yesterday evening that I barely could stay awake while lying in my bed.
Today I just stayed in bed, trying to type this together, to sum it up and write it down accurately, which actually took me about 8h, though I took a long TV-watch pause in between and I actually wanted to watch MAMA today but they didn’t show it on our TV so i had to cope with grey’s anatomy.
Now I’m tired as hell again, but I hope you had fun reading my hard work and enjoyed what I had to tell. The picture spam comes tomorrow in a seperate post, there are just too many pictures and of course I’ll come back tomorrow to edit the rest!
SEEYA’LL

2 thoughts on “FunFunFun and a lot to explore on Kyushuisland

  1. Oh Anna-san you’re back again!!! I love reading your diary, you describe everything so beautifully and entertaining, it’s just like a movie for me. I hope you’ll never get fed up with it…. I’m looking forward to see the pictures from your trip. xoxoxoxox Take care my love

  2. Hello my Love, good to See you are back and thank you so much for the very interesting and entertaining post! Love it! And I can imagine how exhausted you may have been. Take care and have a Little rest now. Looking forward to seeing your lovely pictures.
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

