Public holiday and Birthday

Hii~
So as it says in the titel, today was a public holiday, meaning I had my day off, as well as Tetsuo-san.
I had a lot of sleep to catch up so I somehow slept until 12PM and just as I finished my morning rituals the front opened and in came two little boys a man and a woman – Tetsuo-san and Emiko-san’ daughter Nanami with her husband Juntaro-san and two little sons, Shoutaru-kun and Yoshike-kun. Oh those two were sooo adorable. Shoutaru-kun, the elder from both, is 5years old and very shy and timid. Yoshike-kun on the other hand is a very wild and active child, though he’s only 2,5years old.
Anyways, Tetsuo-san was playing with the kids and Emiko-san was preparing lunch, while I sat in the diningroom together with Nanami-san and Juntaro-san. Thought it was very awkward, at least for the two of them, because they didn’t know how to start a conversation with me. We still somehow did and I learned that Nanami-san talks very good english (Emiko-san she studied in Boston for a year or so, though I wasn’t able to ask her about it), Juntaro-san on the other side is currently trying to learn english, but he has problems understanding since he doesn’t have any practice here in japan. Both are super kind and nice and we had a nice chat. The kids though were super cute but very shy so they didn’t approach and since I can’t talk much japanese yet, I was very careful abutt approahing them, too. But I had a little battle with Shoutaru-kun, being asked various questions like ‘what time is it now?’ ‘when is your birthday?’ or ‘what comes after wednesday?’. Questions we both could answer, but Shoutaru-kun won, he was just a tad bit better than me, I believe that he has more practice and is better at understanding, I always need to process for myself what I’m being asked before I can answer. But it was very fun nevertheless.
After our little battle we all got excited for Nanami-san had brought a cake, because her husband had birthday two days ago and she wanted us all to celebrate together. We sang together and ate a wonderful strawberry cake from a very famous patissier. It was delicious and the atmosphere gentle and calm, though Yoshike-kun came running in and out of the room sometimes, having a running nose. He did that during lunch, too, but there he wanted to eat some rice, oh and hell was he cuuuuuute~ so kawaii~. Emiko-san made him two Onigiri (rice balls with nori around it) and tried to stuff one into his mouth and it crumbled into small bits and the sticky rice stuck on his face. That was just so cute, especially since he has such a round and hubbychubby face. Kawaii~! Eh, anyways, after the cake the kids went to play with their father and Emiko-san, Tetsuo-san took a nap on the couch and Nanami-san went over to her grandmother. She came back around 3 o’clock and we said our goodbyes, since they had to leave again.
Both elderly people were happy to have their quiet and calm house back, because the kids made it very, very lively.
An hour after they left, Tetsuo-san asked me if I wanted to go out with him and of course i wanted. We drove to the liquorstore, where he purchased his beer (he even wanted to buy the wrong one, until said it, the funny thing is that he drinks a beer every evening and forgets its name). I actually liked the store a lot, they had german beer and even korean products, like potato snacks and ramyun (with B2ST on it //fingirldance abdbdjdkaksb) Of course I bought them. We finished and stopped by a conbini (24h shop), I went to ‘read’ the newest version of shounen jump, or more like i looked at the new chapter of naruto and Tetsuo-san went to do whatever he did. Sitting back in the car, he opened a weird package containing two white weird balls, ice cream. I looled at him stunned, then took a better look at the weird white ball, shaking my head mentally. He said I should try one and I did, the first bite was like ‘ew, i’m trying something new, better be careful. this is ice cream, don’t freak out’ and it was very weird, at least the first bite. The more I ate of it, the more I enjoyed eating it, it was delicous actually and I couldn’t stop to sigh in satisfaction after finishing.
What happened after we got back hasn’t been that much nor exciting. I got up to my room to take a rest, got down to eat some dinner and then got back up with Tetsuo-san again to print some pictures.
Now I’m laying in bed, there was a little mini earthquake just 5minutes ago.
There’s one more thing, something I wanted explain. I was asked about the living expenses here in Japan, and it’s actually quite expensive. Cigarettes are probably the only cheap thing here, and I might say, I haven’t touched a cigarette in 11 days. Except cigarettes, it’s quite expensive to buy clothes, not always, some shops can be cheap, too, but mostly are expensive, as well as shoes and groceries. And don’t get me started and on restaurants, they are extremely expensive. Remember about the Soba and Tempura I had for lunch on my first day at work? Tetsuo-san told me it cost about 18-20€. I sat there like ‘WUT?! you kiddin me?’ Something also eats away a lot of money are the trains I’m always talking about. I spent about 45€ in from monday afternoon to thursday morning just for my train and monorailrides.
That’s… a lot. Though you don’t realise that, because you have a prepaid card to just check in and out. Yet I need to praise how things work here in Tokyo, some things are really chaotic, but they still manage to make it work perfectly, like driving a car. For driving car you also pay money, and not actually for fuel, because about 70% of all citizens who drive a car are driving a hybrid one, and you smell. Even though they are a lot of cars in Tokyo and so many people, the air is still very clean and unpoluted. No, what I mean when I say ‘cars pay money’ is that they have the ‘maut’-system that germany didn’t want to have. Imagine it like this, the highway is divided into small distances and everyone has a kind of prepaidcard on the drivers side, so they pay money by stages, how much depending on how many distances they’ve taken. I think it’s a very nice idea, it has many positive sides, like less traffic, no ghostdriver, people can’t drive too fast over a long distance but have to stop frequently or at least slow down, what atomatically reduces the chance of a crash or accident. Of course it get’s expensive somehow, but what would you like to pay for your health and safety? You can get it for free.
Getting off-topic. Either way, that’s it for today, I’m tired, but I hope I could answer your question dougie! And mom? It’s not cold or winter yet, we still have 10ºC, but for a measurement you could say, we have the weather you had last month. We get very cold during January and February.

SEEYAA~

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The ice cream

2 thoughts on “Public holiday and Birthday

  1. The are really integrating you in their family life, don’t they. That’s so kind of Tetsuo-san and Emiko-san. They are absolutely fantastic. If that’s the ice cream on the picture above it looks more like a mashmallow – what’s so weird about it? The taste or more the texture?
    By the way – Met Gabi at the cafe yesterday, she was very happy to learn you are doing so well and sends thousands of kind regards. She is going to buy a PC so she can follow you on your blog….
    Ser fram emot din nästa post och skickar pussar i massor osso en baota cyber kram, xxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Hi honey, so Glad to hear you are doing well and proud of you to the max! Love Reading your stories, it’s so fascinating, Looping forward to each New story.
    Love ya lots!

Leave a Reply

