Tokyo and my first day at work

OHHH~ today was an awesome and exciting Day~
I made my first trip to Tokyo and it was beautiful – and long! Maybe you remember in my post yesterday I said something about chiba being a little village – scratch that! On our way to Tokyo today I learned that it takes about 20minutes if you go by bus or monotrail, only to get to chiba’s central station at the other end of the city. (I live in the south part of the city and the central station is in the north) And the nearer you get there, the more livelier it gets, expensive shops popping out of nowhere, several malls decorating the streets. The central station is the main point of the city where every bus line, monotrail line and train line starts, or maybe ends? Either way, my point is – it’s big. Yet there’s still something untypically, maybe even weird. During around 80% of the way, you need to watch out for houses able to keep more than 2-3 families. There actually barely are any apartment buildings. Those start at the middle of the trainway there is left to tokyo. That part of the way takes about 55-60 minutes – when it’s not crowded – during rush hours about 2 hours. The middle I was talking about is the city funabashi. It connects chiba to tokyo along the coast and the whole ride offers so many things to see that it gets hard to savour it all. The way the houses are built and how people live here is so easily displayed through the look of every house itself, it’s so fascinating it gets to much sometimes. Also you can see how scenery changes, how small houses slowly grow into apartment buildings into skycrapers with neonadvertisements hanging on every wall, lightning up the citystreets. Even the people on the train can be enticing, to see how all kinds of different people try to get the time by by effectively using it to either pass time with their cellphone or sleep or read a book (yeah right, a book, heard of it?). What I saw on my way back home today, is that people who want to enter the train are actually lining up at specially marked points. Looks awesome!
Enough of that talk, on to tokyo. On the way there I had the chance to peek into akihabara a little but other than that, I didn’t see that much of the busy streets of tokyo, since my workplace is in a rather less busy and crowded area, but still, high apartment buildings inhabiting different shops and companies mixed up with rather small and cute multifamily houses. I got a little taste of life in tokyo but clearly what I saw today wasn’t even near the peak of crazy athmosphere tokyo caries within it’s heart.
So today was also my first day at work (my second in total lol xd crazy shiet) and I got to meet my colleagues, who are Fuji-san and Michiyo-san. Fuji-san is a man in his 40’s and trying his best at communicating with me even though i can’t speak japanese and neither is he capable of talking english well (though he tries his utmost, but his aczent and pronounciation are just too heavy/bad, sadly though). I’d really like to talk to him more, because he seems very kind and tries his best to help me study japanese. Michiyo on the other side is a really cute and nice woman in her late 20’s maybe? I’m not sure, but she definitely can’t speak english except for phrases like ‘you are cute’ and simple things like this. Though we can’t converse with each other (she tends to speak japanese to me a lot but i just can’t understand her – and i feel very bad about that) she has left an overly positive impression on me, hopefully that doesn’t turn out bad or wrong or awkward, once we’ll be able to talk. Eitherway, both are just very precious to me already and i look forward to getting to know them better!
So many new things today and there still is a lot to tell.
We were out for lunch today and went to a japanese restaurant around the corner and even passed a traditional japanese shrine. Hell that was impressive and big, but i believe this one is even considered rather small. Anyway, I got some good lunch consisting of soba, soysauce, tempura and rice, miso soup, some weird yet delicious vegetables. I don’t know how to describe my impression the right way. Everything I’ve eaten here so far is quite weird and it sometimes costs a little willpower to try it, yet it has something ‘magical’ and tasty about it, I can somehow understand why japanese people eat it. Sounds not like a lot of fun and it surely even seems very weird to many, but let me explain. For every meal you eat (especially at restaurants, at home it’s more of lika a habit) you get a cup of soup. So far not bad, but if you know that the soup you are drinking is the water the noodles cooked in, it gets a little odd. Additionally those soups normally have a very own, for western people, strange taste, yet it has something refreshing, even kind of addicting in it, that makes you drink it sip by sip until it’s empty. For starters it’s like a vicious circle. It’s a thing that’s hard to explain but that’s the way it feels to me.
Today I also got answers to the one question everyone’s been asking me – How do people in japan celebrate christmas? I always answered that they celebrate it western style with christmastrees and presents and stuff, but that’s actually neither right or wrong. Elder people tend to not celebrate it at all, because it’s just a trend the younger generation picked up on and here it’s mostly only a reason to give gift’s to their partner’s as a sign of love and affection.

So, I think that’s all for today and I’ll see you tomorrow! Have a nice day, I’ll be going to tokyo tomorrow, too, but this time by car (jap: kuruma!)

Seeya!

image

Trainlinesystem for Tokyo and outskirts

image

Ochanimozu Station from outside

image

Shrine

image

Shrine from outside

image

left to right: Tempura and rice, soba - beneath: vegetables, miso soup, soysauce

image

The sight out of my office

image

The sight out of my office

image

people lining up for the train

Leave a Reply

